ASN * American Society for Neurochemistry
Follow us on Facebook twitter LinkedIn instagram

"Science as Art" Photo Competition

brain cells  neuro image

This exciting competition is a great opportunity for scientists from around the world to showcase their imaging skills. 

Capture the breath-taking and engaging beauty of the microscopical world. 



Contestants may enter the competition by uploading digital images directly in the ASN system.

Before you begin, read the Contest Rules and prepare your images for uploading according to the instructions.



The ASN Gallery will give a glimpse into a world that most have never seen. It is a window into a universe that can only be seen through the lens of a microscope. All images submitted for the ASN Imaging Competition will be showcased onsite in a gallery format for all attendees to view throughout the meeting.


Submission Deadline:  February 15, 2018

Officer and Committee Reports

Secretary-Elect & Treasurer-Elect Announced

In a special election the membership elected Jean Merrill as the new Treasurer-Elect and Gary Gibson as the new Secretary-Elect

Text of the Banquet Keynote Address by Claudia Dreifus

Future Meeting Dates
2005 -
June 25-29, Madison, WI
2006 -
March 11-16, Portland, OR
2007 -
August 19-25, Joint meeting with ISN, Cancun, Mexico





    The meeting began on Saturday, August 14, 2004 with a welcome reception in the famous Starlight Room and ended with a closing banquet at Tavern on the Green on Wednesday, August 18, 2004. There was a pre-meeting workshop titled "RNA Interference: Application to Neural Systems" on Saturday, August 14, 2004. Bruce McEwen, Marianne Bronner-Fraser, Susumu Tonegawa, Martin Schwab gave plenary lectures. The meeting was held at the Waldorf Astoria Hilton Hotel.

    Photos from the Meeting

    Thank you Corporate Sponsors
    The ASN would like to thank the generous support of the corporate sponsors of the 35th annual meeting. See the list.

    33 Young Investigators Receive Travel Awards

    Thirty-three young investigators have been chosen to receive travel awards to help defray costs of attending the 35th annual meeting in New York this Summer. Click here for the list.


    The American Society for Neurochemistry provides scholarships for young neuroscientists from Latin American countries. These awards provide $2,000 in travel expenses to attend the 35th Annual Meeting of the American Society of Neurochemistry in New York City, along with the visit, for a period not shorter than one additional week, to an established neuroscience laboratory in North America. The ASN hopes that these awards will foster mentoring relationships, to teach young scientists new techniques, and to share and encourage new ideas and approaches to neurochemical problems. Congratulations to this year's awardees. more>>>



    Lucia Notterpek
    receives the
    2004 Jordi Folch-Pi Award

    Michael Fox
    receives the
    2004 Marian W. Kies Award

    Announcing the
    Bernard Haber Award

    The Bernard Haber Award will be given annually, starting at the 2005 Annual Meeting of the American Society for Neurochemistry.

    This award will recognize the leadership and outstanding contributions of Dr. Bernard Haber to the development and strengthening of relationships between the American Society for Neurochemistry and other neurochemistry and neuroscience societies from around the world.

    Interview with Martin Schwab at the 2004 ASN meeting

    New Committee Rosters
    have been posted. more>>>>




    Membership Dues

    Dues notices for 2005 have been mailed. Please keep your membership current and promptly renew your membership.

    Change in 2006 Dues
    Voted In

    At the annual business meeting the membership voted to change the annual dues for Ordinary and Emeritus members.

    Starting in 2007 the dues for Ordinary members will be $125. Student dues will remain $30/year and Postdoc dues will remain $30/year for the first 3 years after graduation and then rise to $50/year.

    In 2007 Emeritus dues will be $0.

    Minutes of the
    36th Annual Business Meeting

    Committee Reports

    Future Meeting Dates

    2006 - March 11-16, Portland, OR
    2007 - August 19-25, Joint meeting with ISN, Cancun, Mexico





      New President-Elect
      and Counselors Elected

      Members of ASN elected Monica Carson the next President-Elect.

      Monica Carson

      The six members that were elected to the post of Counselor were Regina Armstrong, Vittorio Gallo, Eric Murphy, Thomas Seyfried, David Shine, and Teresa Wood. Lucia Notterpek was elected Alternate to the Council. Thank you to all that participated voted in this election.






      Mathew Rasband
      receives the
      2005 Jordi Folch-Pi Award

      Christopher Taylor
      receives the
      2005 Marian W. Kies Award

      New President,
      Treasurer, and Secretary
      Take their Positions

      At the Annual Business Meeting Dr. Wendy Maklin became the new President, Dr. Jean Merrill became the new Treasurer, and Dr. Gary Gibson became the new Secretray. All three have previously been the respective officer elects.


      Abel Lajtha Receives
      the Bernard Haber Award

      The Bernard Haber Award is given in honor of Bernard Haber to an ASN member that has helped develop and strengthen relationships between the ASN and other neurochemistry and neuroscience societies from around the world including fostering research and academic cooperation and facilitating and encouraging the development of younger neuroscientists outside the US. The Bernard Haber Award Committee has chosen Abel Lajtha as the first recipient of this prestigious award.