ASN * American Society for Neurochemistry
Follow us on Facebook twitter LinkedIn instagram
Print Print

ASN NEURO was launched March 2, 2009 as an Open Access journal to further the Society's mission to advance, promote, support, encourage and facilitate communication among cellular and molecular neuroscientists.

ASN NEURO, after a mere 4 short months has been approved by the National Library of Medicine to be included in PubMed and PubMed Central. This development early in the journal's lifespan reflects the high-quality of the first papers published, the hard work of Tony Campagnoni, the Editor-in-Chief and the Editorial Board.

When will you submit your next paper to ASN NEURO?


Committee Reports For 40th Annual Meeting

Future Meeting Dates
March 6-10, 2010 - Santa Fe, NM
March 19-23, 2011 - St. Louis, MO
March 23-27 2012 - Baltimore, MD
April 20-26 2013 - Cancun, Mexico

The ASN welcomes the following new members:

Raz, Limor
Reyes, Reno
Roman, Jose
Samuel, Filsy
Scafidi, Susanna
Shropshire, John
Siebert, Justin
Siriphorn, Akkradate
Skoff, Anne
Smith, Maria
Spear, Marcia
Suzuki, Yusuke
Teppen, Tara
Tong, Xiaoying
Tripathi, Richa
Tyler, William
Tzvetanova, Iva

Vaccarino, Flora
Vargas, Jay
Wang, Xinglong
Yuelling, Larra M
Zhu, Wenjun
Ziegler, Amber




New President-Elect, Treasurer, Secretary and Counselors Elected.
New President begins term.

Six members elected to the post of Counselor for 2009-2013 were Scott Brady, Phil Haydon, Rashmi Bansal, Susan McGuire, Vlad Parpura and Judy Grinspan.

Elected from 1st alternate to a full member was Wee Yong.

Dana McTigue is now the 1st alternate for 2009-2013. Chuck How is now the 2nd Alternate sitting out Susan McGuire's term from 2009-2011.

Thanks to all for participating in this election.

Francesca Bosetti Recieves
Recieves 2009 Jordi Folch-Pi Award

Eric Murphy (above left) presents Francesca Bosetti (right) with the 2009 Jordi Folch-Pi Award at the ASN Annual Meeting in Charleston, SC.

The Jordi Folch-Pi Award is given to an outstanding young investigator who has demonstrated a high level of research competence and originality, who has significantly advanced our knowledge of neurochemistry and who shows a high degree of potential for future accomplishments

Dr. Bosetti will recieve $1500 and has been invited to organize a Symposium at the Sante Fe meeting. 

Jennifer Tobin Receives
2009 Marian Kies Award

Jean Harry (above left) presents Jennifer Tobin (right) with the 2009 Marian Kies Award at the ASN Annual Meeting in Charleston, SC.

This award is presented to an outstanding newly minted cellular and molecular neuroscientist

Dr. Tobin will recieve $1500 and has been invited to organize a Symposium at the at the Sante Fe meeting.

Jean Merrill Retires as Treasurer

After serving as Treasurer for 2 terms (2005-2009), Jean Merrill decided to step down as Treasurer. The ASN is truly grateful for all of Jean's efforts to ensure the fiscal stability of our society. She made wise and informed choices in investing ASN funds and she was a terrific fund-raiser. We wish her the best in all of her future endeavors.