ASN * American Society for Neurochemistry
Follow us on Facebook twitter LinkedIn instagram
Print Print

ISN/ASN Meeting Cancelled!

At 12 pm Saturday, August 18th, the meeting organizers and society officers after days of agonized debate cancelled the 38th ASN meeting. Hurricane Dean, was a category 4 hurricane, maintaining its direct path towards Cancun, with landfall expected on Tuesday the 21st. Putting our member's safety first, we cancelled the meeting. All registrants will receive an email from the conference organizers with information about obtaining refunds of the meeting registration and meeting hotel deposits.

Membership Dues

Please keep your membership current and promptly renew your membership. Individuals who have paid their dues will be charged a discounted registration fee to attend our meeting. Non-members, and members in arrears will be charged a registration rate greater than the members rate + dues. So, keep your membership current and promptly renew your membership!

Dues for Ordinary members are $125. Student dues are $30/yearPostdoc dues are $30/year for the first 3 years after graduation and then rise to $50/year. Emeritus dues are $0.

2008 Meeting Website


Committee Reports For 38th Annual Meeting

Future Meeting Dates
Mar 1-5, 2008 - San Antonio, TX
Mar 7-11, 2009 - Charleston, SC

Future ASN Council Meetings San Diego, Nov 4, 5:00 - 8:00 pm. Location TBD

San Antonio Hyatt :
Mar 1, 12:00-4:00 pm
Mar 4 - 12:00-3:00 pm


In Memory of Dr. Steven Pfeiffer
Aug 13, 1940 - Aug 26, 2007

Dr. Steven E. Pfeiffer, 67, died on Sunday, August 26, 2007 after a two year struggle with bladder cancer. Dr. Pfeiffer graduated from Carleton College in Northfield, MN and received his doctorate in molecular biology from Washington University in St. Louis, MO. He was a postdoctoral fellow with Dr. Gordon Sato at Brandeis University in Waltham, MA. For the past 38 years Steve worked as a professor of microbiology and neuroscience at the U Conn Health Center in Farmington, CT. Dr. Pfeiffer was world-reknowned for his knowledge of epigenetic regulators and stages of oligodendrocyte development. Steve was a founding member of and clarinetist for the Farmington Valley Symphony Orchestra and an avid traveler. He and his wife Carol shared their love of camping with their three daughters and their beagles. He created beautiful outdoor spaces, including the woods and path around his home and a Zen garden. Steve was a mentor to countless students and colleagues and a very active member of the Society for Neurochemistry. His keen intelligence, boundless curiosity, sense of humor, optimism and compassion will be deeply missed.

For a more complete tribute to Dr. Pfeiffer go to: Pfeiffer

New President-Elect
and Counselors Elected.
New President begins term.

Six members elected to the post of Counselor for 2007-2011 were Matt Rasband, Tika Beneveniste, Celia Campagnoni, Babette Fuss, Oscar Bizzozero and Tammy Kielian. Susan McGuire was elected Alternate to the Council.

Thank you to all that participated voted in this election.


The ASN welcomes the following new members:

Donna Marie Byers
Juan Chavez
Christine Ann Denny
Kavi Devraj
Thuy Ngoc Do
Jonathan M. Doose
Iryna Ethell
J. Garbern
Amber Hood
Jong Ho (Peter) Lee
Gerardo Morfini
Montana Parpura
Pascale Rabbah
James Roberts
Christopher Toscano
Emma Wilson
Jingping Zhang
Donghui Zhu
Erin Jacobs

Gerardo Morfini
receives the
2007 Jordi Folch-Pi Award

Dr. Morfini is an Assistant Professor in the Dept. of Anatomy and Cell Biology at the U. of Illinois in Chicago. He has made major contributions to our understanding of the mchanisms of intracellular trafficking in neurons. As the recipient of this award, Dr. Morfini will recieve $1500 and has been invited to organize a Symposium at the San Antonio meeting.


Siming Shen
receives the
2007 Marian W. Kies Award

This award is presented to outstanding newly minted cellular and molecular neuroscientists. Dr. Shen was a graduate student at UMDNJ-RWJMS working in the labortory of Dr. Patrizia Casaccia-Bonnefil. Her research focused on the role of epigenitic factors in oligodendrocyte differentiation. As the recipient of this award, Dr. Shen will recieve $1500 and has been invited to organize a Symposium at the San Antonio meeting.

Sincerest thanks to outgoing President and Councilors.

Special thanks to Wendy Macklin who completed her term as 19th President of the ASN and to the following colleagues who have generously contributed to the missions of the ASN by serving as Councilors from 2003-2007.

Karen Chandross
Douglas Feinstein
Alexander Gow
Sandra Hewett
Pamela Knapp
Mark Smith
Alternate: Jeffrey Yao


In Memory of Dr. Bernard Haber

July 20, 1934 - July 23, 2007

Dr. Bernard Haber passed away on July 23, 2007, after a long battle with diabetes. Bernard was a member of the faculty of UTMB from 1971 until his retirement in 1999. Bernard was Editor in Chief of the Journal of Neuroscience Research and served as liaison between the American and International Societies for Neurochemistry until his health no longer allowed it. In 2005 the ASN created the Bernard Haber Award to recognize his outstanding contributions to the development and strengthening of relationships between the ASN and other neuroscience societies. He was semi-famous for his gourmet cooking and infamous for his wild and crazy parties. Bernard celebrated life and was unforgettable to those who had met him. Contributions to the Bernard Haber Award Fund may be made in his memory.

For a more complete tribute to Dr. Haber go to: Haber