ASN * American Society for Neurochemistry
Follow us on Facebook twitter LinkedIn instagram
Print Print

Officer and Committee Reports

Secretary-Elect & Treasurer-Elect Announced

In a special election the membership elected Jean Merrill as the new Treasurer-Elect and Gary Gibson as the new Secretary-Elect

Text of the Banquet Keynote Address by Claudia Dreifus

Future Meeting Dates
2005 -
June 25-29, Madison, WI
2006 -
March 11-16, Portland, OR
2007 -
August 19-25, Joint meeting with ISN, Cancun, Mexico





    The meeting began on Saturday, August 14, 2004 with a welcome reception in the famous Starlight Room and ended with a closing banquet at Tavern on the Green on Wednesday, August 18, 2004. There was a pre-meeting workshop titled "RNA Interference: Application to Neural Systems" on Saturday, August 14, 2004. Bruce McEwen, Marianne Bronner-Fraser, Susumu Tonegawa, Martin Schwab gave plenary lectures. The meeting was held at the Waldorf Astoria Hilton Hotel.

    Photos from the Meeting

    Thank you Corporate Sponsors
    The ASN would like to thank the generous support of the corporate sponsors of the 35th annual meeting. See the list.

    33 Young Investigators Receive Travel Awards

    Thirty-three young investigators have been chosen to receive travel awards to help defray costs of attending the 35th annual meeting in New York this Summer. Click here for the list.


    The American Society for Neurochemistry provides scholarships for young neuroscientists from Latin American countries. These awards provide $2,000 in travel expenses to attend the 35th Annual Meeting of the American Society of Neurochemistry in New York City, along with the visit, for a period not shorter than one additional week, to an established neuroscience laboratory in North America. The ASN hopes that these awards will foster mentoring relationships, to teach young scientists new techniques, and to share and encourage new ideas and approaches to neurochemical problems. Congratulations to this year's awardees. more>>>



    Lucia Notterpek
    receives the
    2004 Jordi Folch-Pi Award

    Michael Fox
    receives the
    2004 Marian W. Kies Award

    Announcing the
    Bernard Haber Award

    The Bernard Haber Award will be given annually, starting at the 2005 Annual Meeting of the American Society for Neurochemistry.

    This award will recognize the leadership and outstanding contributions of Dr. Bernard Haber to the development and strengthening of relationships between the American Society for Neurochemistry and other neurochemistry and neuroscience societies from around the world.

    Interview with Martin Schwab at the 2004 ASN meeting

    New Committee Rosters
    have been posted. more>>>>